TUD Logo

TUD Home » ... » research » usability lab » scenarios

Chair of HCI

scenarios

In addition to the traditional usability methods, such as think aloud, performance testing, questionnaires, focus group, participant observation, interview and heuristic evaluation, there are many other methods, such as paper prototyping, co-discovery, video feedback, remote test and so on.

Most of the usability tests can be carried out in the usability lab, but a small part of them in the use context. Below are 4 possible scenarios for lab tests.

scenario 1: performance testing (performance measurement, task based testing)

Performance testing also referred to as performance measurement or task based testing, is one of the classic usability methods. This method aims to collect quantitative data. The subject receives tasks to solve. Such data like the number of errors, duration of the solution of the tasks, the percentage of successfully completed tasks and the number of calls for help.

performance testing

performance testing

 

scenario 2: paperprototyping

Paperprototyping is a very effective usability method where subjects test a product with paper version. So you can evaluate a product before it is implemented. All the necessary human-computer interfaces are drawn on paper.

paper-prototyping

paper-prototyping

paper-prototyping

paper-prototyping

szenario 3: video feedback (video confrontation)

Video feedback also video confrontation, consists of two parts. In the first part, a subject performs some tasks. The subject is not verbalizing his thoughts. The face of the subject and the screen will be recorded by cameras. In the second part, moderator and subject see the recordings together. The subject comments now his approaches and actions. Also the second part is recorded.

video feedback

video feedback

 

szenario 4: co-discovery (constructive interaction)

Co-discovery, also constructive interaction, is a variant of the think-aloud method. Two or three users solve the tasks together and discuss with each other.

co-discovery

co-discovery

 

back

Last modified: 27th Aug 2012, 4.07 PM
Author: Dipl.-Medieninf. Jens Voegler

TUD Logo

TUD Startseite » ... » Forschung » Usability-Labor » Szenarien

Professur MCI

Szenarien

Neben den klassischen Usability-Methoden wie Think Aloud, Performance Testing, Fragebogen, Fokusgruppe, Teilnehmende Beobachtung, Interview und Heuristische Evaluation, gibt es auch zahlreiche andere Methoden, wie Paperprototyping, Co-Discovery, Video Feedback, Remote Test usw..

Die meisten Tests können im Usability-Labor, ein kleiner Teil kann aber nur in der Einsatzumgebung des Produktes durchgeführt werden. Nachfolgend sind 4 mögliche Szenarien für Labortests dargestellt.

Szenario 1: Performance Testing (Performance Messung, Task based Testing)

Performance Testing, auch Performance Messung oder Task based Testing genannt, gehört zu einer der klassischen Usability-Methoden. Hierbei geht es darum, quantitative Daten zu erheben. Die Testpersonen bekommen Aufgaben zu lösen. Dabei werden bestimmte Kennzahlen, beispielsweise die Anzahl der Fehler, die Zeit für die Bewältigung der Aufgaben, die Prozentzahl der erfolgreich absolvierten Aufgaben und die Anzahl der Hilfeaufrufe ermittelt.

Performance Testing

Performance Testing

 

Szenario 2: Paperprototyping

Wie der Name sagt, werden bei Paperprototyping Prototypen eines Produktes in Papierform vom Nutzer getestet. Das ist eine sehr effektive Methode. Damit kann man ein Produkt schon evaluieren bevor es implementiert wird. Alle notwendigen Mensch-Computer-Schnittstellen werden auf Papier gezeichnet.

Paper-Prototyping

Paper-Prototyping

Paper-Prototyping

Paper-Prototyping

Szenario 3: Video Feedback (Video Confrontation)

Video Feedback wird auch Video Confrontation genannt und besteht aus zwei Teilen. In dem ersten Teil löst der Nutzer Aufgaben. Der Nutzer spricht seine Gedanken nicht laut aus. Dabei werden das Gesicht des Nutzers und der Bildschirm mit Kameras aufgezeichnet. In dem zweiten Teil sehen Nutzer und Testleiter die Mitschnitte gemeinsam an. Der Benutzer kommentiert jetzt die Vorgehensweisen und Aktionen. Auch Teil zwei wird aufgezeichnet.

Video Feedback

Video Feedback

 

Szenario 4: Co-Discovery (Constructive Interaction)

Bei Co-Discovery, auch Constructive Interaction genannt, handelt es sich um eine Variante der Think-Aloud-Methode. Zwei oder drei Nutzer lösen die Aufgaben zusammen und diskutieren die Vorgehensweisen miteinander.

Co-Discovery

Co-Discovery

 

zurück

Stand: 27.8.2012, 16:05 Uhr
Autor: Dipl.-Medieninf. Jens Voegler